Tifton -- Georgia State Soil

Photograph of area of Tifton soil series. Area is a field with contoured rows of an unidentified crop.
Woodland is in the background.

Photograph of a profile of a typifying pedon of Tifton soil series.

Tifton Soil Profile

Surface layer: dark grayish brown loamy sand
Subsoil - upper: strong brown fine sandy loam
Subsoil - middle: yellowish brown sandy clay loam
Subsoil - lower: strong brown sandy clay
There is more than 5 percent plinthite in the subsoil
The Tifton series was one of the first series to be recognized in Georgia. It was established in Grady County, Georgia, in a 1908 soil survey conducted by Hugh Hammond Bennett. Tifton soils occur throughout the Southern Coastal Plain in Georgia. They are the most extensive soils in Georgia. They occur on more than 2 million acres in the State. They have been correlated in more Georgia counties (56) than any other soil.

Tifton soils formed in loamy sediments of marine origin. They are among the most important agricultural soils in the State. About 27 percent of Georgia’s prime farmland is in areas of Tifton soils. Cotton, peanuts, soybeans, and corn are the principal crops grown on these soils.

Small scale map of Georgia showing distribution of Tifton soil series.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) prohibits discrimination in all its programs and activities on the basis of race, color, national origin, gender, religion, age, disability, political beliefs, sexual orientation, and marital or family status. (Not all prohibited bases apply to all programs.) Persons with disabilities who require alternative means for communication of program information (Braille, large print, audiotape, etc.) should contact USDA's TARGET Center at 202-720-2600 (voice and TDD). To file a complaint of discrimination, write USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, Room 326W, Whitten Building, 14th and Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call 202-720-5964 (voice or TDD). USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer.

United States Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources Conservation Servics logo.