Crider -- Kentucky State Soil

Photograph of farmland. Farmstead out buildings are in the background and
    include a regular barn, a tobacco barn, and other smaller buildings.

Photograph of a profile of a typifying pedon of Crider soil series.

Crider Soil Profile

Surface layer: brown silt loam
Subsoil - upper: reddish brown silt loam
Subsoil - middle: dark red silty clay loam
Subsoil - lower: dark red clay
The Crider soils are extensive, making up about 500,000 acres in Kentucky and occurring in 35 counties in the state. Most areas are used for crops or pasture. Corn, small grain, soybeans, tobacco, and hay are the main crops. Crider soils are highly productive. Many acres of these soils are prime farmland.

The Crider series consists of very deep, well drained, moderately permeable soils on uplands. They formed in a mantle of loess and the underlying limestone residuum. Slopes range from 0 to 20 percent. The average annual precipitation is about 48 inches, and the average annual temperature is about 57 degrees F.

The Crider series was established in Caldwell County, Kentucky, in 1957. It is named after a community in the county.

Small scale map of Kentucky and adjacent states showing distribution of Crider soil series.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) prohibits discrimination in all its programs and activities on the basis of race, color, national origin, gender, religion, age, disability, political beliefs, sexual orientation, and marital or family status. (Not all prohibited bases apply to all programs.) Persons with disabilities who require alternative means for communication of program information (Braille, large print, audiotape, etc.) should contact USDA's TARGET Center at 202-720-2600 (voice and TDD). To file a complaint of discrimination, write USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, Room 326W, Whitten Building, 14th and Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call 202-720-5964 (voice or TDD). USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer.

United States Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources Conservation service logo.